How to erase a 2010 imac?

Run the Disk Utility in the Utilities window by clicking it. Click Macintosh HD, then click Erase to erase the data on your hard drive. Click Quit Disk Utility when the erase success message appears.

Also the question is, how do I wipe my old IMAC clean?

  1. Turn on your Mac and continue to press and hold the power button until the startup options window comes up.
  2. When the Utilities window appears, select Disk Utility.
  3. In the sidebar, choose Macintosh HD.
  4. Click the “Erase” button, then select a file system format and enter a name for it.

You asked, how do I return my Imac to factory settings? The best way to restore your Mac to its factory settings is to erase your hard drive and reinstall macOS. After macOS installation has been completed, the Mac will restart and display a setup assistant asking you to choose a country or region. To leave the Mac in an out-of-box state, don’t continue the setup process.

Likewise, how do I factory reset my iMac 2011? Restart your iMac by clicking the Apple menu, then select Restart…. Click the Restart button when the dialog box appears. After the iMac shuts down completely but before it begins to restart, hold down the Command (⌘) and R keys at the same time.

Best answer for this question, how do you clear everything off a Mac?

  1. Shutdown iMac.
  2. Unplug power cord from back of iMac.
  3. Press and hold power button for 20 seconds.
  4. Restore power cord; power on iMac.
  5. Immediately on hearing Startup Chime, press and hold Command-Option-P-R keys (⌘⌥ P R)
Psssssst :  How to pair with homepod?

Contents

How do I factory reset my 2009 iMac without CD?

Select the hard drive on which Mac OS X is installed from the tree list on the left side of the window. Open the “Erase” tab. Select “Mac OS Extended (Journaled)” from the “Format:” drop menu and enter a name for the hard drive in the “Name:” text entry field. Click “Erase…” to clear all of the hard drive’s contents.

How do you wipe a computer clean to sell it?

  1. Open Settings.
  2. Tap System and expand the Advanced drop-down.
  3. Tap Reset options.
  4. Tap Erase all data.
  5. Tap Reset Phone, enter your PIN, and select Erase Everything.

What happens if I factory reset my Mac?

Resetting a Mac to factory settings gets rid of all the data stored on that machine, so we recommend that you make a backup of the data first. This can be done very simply using Apple’s Time Machine software – here’s how to back up using Time Machine.

How do I factory reset my IMAC 2015?

  1. Restart the Mac in Recovery Mode (hold down Command and the R key during restart).
  2. Use Disk Utility to erase the hard drive. Click on Disk Utility > Continue. Select the main volume and click Unmount then Erase).
  3. Click Reinstall OS X and Continue. Follow the instructions to reinstall Mac OS X.

How do you delete a file that won’t Delete on a Mac?

Type in “rm -f ” without the quotation marks, and with the space after the f. Then find the file that wont delete, and drag it to the Terminal window, and the path to that item should appear. Double check that this is the thing you want to delete, then press enter.

Psssssst :  How to restart an iphone x?

How do I delete administrator account on Mac?

  1. Locate Users & Groups on the bottom left.
  2. Select the padlock icon.
  3. Enter your password.
  4. Select the admin user on the left and then select the minus icon near the bottom.
  5. Choose an option from the list and then select Delete User.

Does deleting a user account delete files Mac?

Thanks. If you are using OS X Mavericks, the user files will be deleted. If you are using an older Mac OS X version like OS X Mountain Lion, System Preferences will let you choose if you want to keep the files or to remove them.

How do I wipe my Mac without recovery mode?

  1. Select ‘Disk Utility. ‘
  2. Select the volume that you want to erase.
  3. Click ‘Erase. ‘
  4. Disk Utility will now wipe your hard drive.

How do I wipe my computer before recycling?

Simply go to the Start Menu and click on Settings. Navigate to Update & Security, and look for the recovery menu. From there you just select Reset this PC and follow the instructions from there. It may ask you to erase data either “quickly” or “thoroughly” — we suggest taking the time to do the latter.

Does a factory reset delete everything PC?

During the factory resetting process, your PC’s hard drive is completely erased and you lose any business, financial and personal files that may be present on the computer. Once the resetting process starts, you cannot interrupt it.

How do I remove personal information from my computer?

  1. Click Update & Security.
  2. Go to the left hand side, scroll down and click on Recovery.
  3. From there, go to Reset this PC.
  4. A prompt will appear with two options, Keep My Files or Remove Everything.
  5. Click the Change settings option.
  6. Turn the Data Erasure toggle switch to on.
Psssssst :  How to measure meters on apple watch?

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please disable your ad blocker to be able to view the page content. For an independent site with free content, it's literally a matter of life and death to have ads. Thank you for your understanding! Thanks