How to erase imac g4 hard drive?

When the menu bar appears select Disk Utility from the Utilities menu. After DU loads select the startup volume from the left side list then click on the Erase tab. Set the format type to Mac OS Extended (Journaled) then click on the Options button. Select the one pass Zero Data option and click on the OK button.

Furthermore, how do I wipe my Mac hard drive completely?

  1. Turn on your Mac and continue to press and hold the power button until the startup options window comes up.
  2. When the Utilities window appears, select Disk Utility.
  3. In the sidebar, choose Macintosh HD.
  4. Click the “Erase” button, then select a file system format and enter a name for it.

Additionally, how do I factory reset my iMac g4 without CD? How to Factory Reset an iMac Via the Recovery Partition. Restart the iMac and hold the “Command-R” keys while the computer reboots. Select and connect to a Wi-Fi network from the list if the iMac prompts you to do so. Choose the “Disk Utility” option from the list and click “Continue.”

Beside above, how do you wipe a Mac computer clean to sell it?

  1. Turn your Mac computer off.
  2. Press the power button to turn it on, then immediately press and hold Command (⌘) + R.
  3. After a few moments, the macOS Utilities window should appear — this is known as Recovery Mode.
  4. Select “Disk Utility” and click “Continue.”

Amazingly, how do you clear everything off a Mac? Use Disk Utility to erase your Mac Select Macintosh HD in the sidebar of Disk Utility. Don’t see Macintosh HD? Click the Erase button in the toolbar, then enter the requested details: Name: Macintosh HD.

How do I restore my iMac g4 to factory settings?

Answer: A: Insert the install disk and hold down the C key while booting up. You should be booting into the CD. Once past the first screen, go to Utilities in the upper menu bar, choose to erase the disk using Disk Utility and, when done, let it reinstall the OS.

How do I restore my old iMac to factory settings?

Shut down your Mac, then turn it on and immediately press and hold these four keys together: Option, Command, P, and R. Release the keys after about 20 seconds. This clears user settings from memory and restores certain security features that might have been altered.

How do I wipe my iMac to factory settings?

  1. Restart your computer: hold the power button > select Restart when it appears.
  2. While the computer restarts, hold down the ‘Command’ and ‘R’ keys.
  3. Once you see the Apple logo appear, release the ‘Command and R keys’
  4. When you see a Recovery Mode menu, select Disk Utility.

How do you make sure your Mac is backed up?

Make sure your Mac Pro is on the same Wi-Fi network as your external storage device, or connect the storage device to your Mac Pro. Open System Preferences, click Time Machine, then select Back Up Automatically. Select the drive you want to use for backup, and you’re all set.

How do you restore Internet on a Mac?

  1. Shut down your Mac.
  2. Hold down Command-Option/Alt-R and press the Power button.
  3. Hold down those keys until you a spinning globe and the message “Starting Internet Recovery.
  4. The message will be replaced with a progress bar.
  5. Wait for the MacOS Utilities screen to appear.
Psssssst :  How to fix logic board macbook pro?

How do I restore my IMAC to factory settings without CD?

How do you delete a file that won’t Delete on a Mac?

Type in “rm -f ” without the quotation marks, and with the space after the f. Then find the file that wont delete, and drag it to the Terminal window, and the path to that item should appear. Double check that this is the thing you want to delete, then press enter.

How do you completely wipe a hard drive?

  1. Step 1: Back up your hard-drive data.
  2. Step 2: Don’t just delete files from your computer.
  3. Step 3: Use a program to wipe your drive.
  4. Step 4: Physically wipe your hard drive.
  5. Step 5: Do a fresh installation of the operating system.

How do you delete all photos from Mac?

To delete all pictures on your Mac, open the Photos app and click Photos. Click Edit > Select All and press Delete.

What happens if you delete Macintosh HD?

You won’t lose your own files, or apps that you might have installed. This reinstall just copies a fresh set of your operating system files. Then, restarts, finishes the install with those downloaded files. The install process might take more than 30 minutes, but you should boot back into your hard drive, no harm done.

Does Mac OS reinstall delete data?

2 Answers. Reinstalling macOS from the recovery menu does not erase your data. However, if there is a corruption issue, your data may be corrupted as well, its really hard to tell. … Reinatalling the os alone does not erase data.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please disable your ad blocker to be able to view the page content. For an independent site with free content, it's literally a matter of life and death to have ads. Thank you for your understanding! Thanks