How to erase imac hard drive before selling?

Shut down your Mac, then turn it on and immediately press and hold these four keys together: Option, Command, P and R. Release the keys after about 20 seconds. This will clear user settings from the memory and restore certain security features that may have been altered previously.

Frequent question, how do you restore a Mac to factory settings?

  1. Restart your computer: hold the power button > select Restart when it appears.
  2. While the computer restarts, hold down the ‘Command’ and ‘R’ keys.
  3. Once you see the Apple logo appear, release the ‘Command and R keys’
  4. When you see a Recovery Mode menu, select Disk Utility.

You asked, how do I completely wipe my Mac desktop?

  1. Turn on your Mac and continue to press and hold the power button until the startup options window comes up.
  2. When the Utilities window appears, select Disk Utility.
  3. In the sidebar, choose Macintosh HD.
  4. Click the “Erase” button, then select a file system format and enter a name for it.

Additionally, how do I wipe my IMAC and start fresh?

Also, how do I do a factory reset?

  1. 1 Tap Settings
  2. 2 Tap General Management.
  3. 3 Tap Reset.
  4. 4 Tap Factory data reset.
  5. 5 Tap RESET.
  6. 6 Tap DELETE ALL. Please be patient as phone resetting takes some time.
  7. 1 Tap Apps > Settings > Backup and reset.
  8. 2 Tap Factory data reset > Reset Device > Erase Everything.
  1. Shut down your Mac.
  2. Hold down Command-Option/Alt-R and press the Power button.
  3. Hold down those keys until you a spinning globe and the message “Starting Internet Recovery.
  4. The message will be replaced with a progress bar.
  5. Wait for the MacOS Utilities screen to appear.
Psssssst :  How to fix iphone 7 reboot loop?

Contents

How do I delete a Mac user account?

  1. On your Mac, choose Apple menu > System Preferences, then click Users & Groups. Open Users & Groups preferences for me.
  2. Select the user or group you want to delete, then click the Remove button (looks like a minus sign) below the list of users.
  3. Do one of the following:
  4. Click Delete User.

How do I restore my iMac to factory settings without CD?

How do I factory reset my 2009 iMac?

  1. Shutdown iMac.
  2. Unplug power cord from back of iMac.
  3. Press and hold power button for 20 seconds.
  4. Restore power cord; power on iMac.
  5. Immediately on hearing Startup Chime, press and hold Command-Option-P-R keys (⌘⌥ P R)

How do I permanently delete files from my Mac?

  1. Hold the Option key and go to File > Delete Immediately from the menu bar.
  2. Press Option + Command (⌘) + Delete.

How do you delete a file that won’t Delete on a Mac?

Type in “rm -f ” without the quotation marks, and with the space after the f. Then find the file that wont delete, and drag it to the Terminal window, and the path to that item should appear. Double check that this is the thing you want to delete, then press enter.

How do you delete all files on a Mac?

If you want to delete all downloads, simply press “shift” on your keyboard while clicking the first and then last download in the list. You can also hold “Command” + “A” to select all. 4. Right click on the file(s), and then click “Move to trash” from the pop-up menu.

Psssssst :  How to name your airpods on bluetooth?

What does a factory Reset erase?

What is a factory reset? A factory reset erases all of the information on an electronic device and restores the software to its original state (when it was in the factory). On your phone or desktop computer, this means all your apps and files will be removed.

Does restore factory settings delete everything?

When you do a factory reset on your Android device, it erases all the data on your device. It is similar to the concept of formatting a computer hard drive, which deletes all the pointers to your data, so the computer no longer knows where the data is stored.

What are the disadvantages of factory Reset?

But if we reset our device because we noticed that its snappiness has slowed down, the biggest drawback is the loss of data, so it is essential to backup all your data, contacts, photos, videos, files, music, before resetting.

Will Internet Recovery wipe my Mac?

No, doing an Internet Recovery will not erase your hard drive (unless you explicitly choose do to that using Disk Utility ). It will only reinstall the OS for you.

Why is my Mac starting Internet recovery?

If both your Mac’s startup volume and its recovery partition have become corrupted or physically damaged, the computer will automatically enter Internet Recovery Mode.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please disable your ad blocker to be able to view the page content. For an independent site with free content, it's literally a matter of life and death to have ads. Thank you for your understanding! Thanks