How to erase your imac hard drive?

  1. Turn on your Mac and continue to press and hold the power button until the startup options window comes up.
  2. When the Utilities window appears, select Disk Utility.
  3. In the sidebar, choose Macintosh HD.
  4. Click the “Erase” button, then select a file system format and enter a name for it.

Furthermore, how do I completely wipe my imac? Shut down your Mac, then turn it on and immediately press and hold these four keys together: Option, Command, P, and R. Release the keys after about 20 seconds. This clears user settings from memory and restores certain security features that might have been altered.

Correspondingly, how do I delete all my hard drives on Mac?

  1. Back up any important files.
  2. In the Disk Utility app on your Mac, select the disk set you want to erase in the sidebar.
  3. Click the Erase button .

Beside above, how do I wipe my Mac hard drive and reuse it? To wipe your mechanical drive, open Disk Utility, which you’ll find in Applications > Utilities. Connect the drive you want to securely delete, then click it in the sidebar. Make sure you click the drive you want to securely delete: you do not want to erase some other hard drive by mistake!

Subsequently, how do you wipe a Mac computer clean to sell it?

  1. Turn your Mac computer off.
  2. Press the power button to turn it on, then immediately press and hold Command (⌘) + R.
  3. After a few moments, the macOS Utilities window should appear — this is known as Recovery Mode.
  4. Select “Disk Utility” and click “Continue.”
  1. Shutdown iMac.
  2. Unplug power cord from back of iMac.
  3. Press and hold power button for 20 seconds.
  4. Restore power cord; power on iMac.
  5. Immediately on hearing Startup Chime, press and hold Command-Option-P-R keys (⌘⌥ P R)
Psssssst :  How to make homepod forget wifi?

Contents

How long does it take to wipe a Mac?

I’d estimate anywhere from 1 to 5 hours would be the norm but it’s possible for it to take up to 12 hours. Make sure you erase everything securely before selling it so the buyer can’t recover your saved passwords. Several seconds if done properly: What to do before selling or giving away your Mac.

What happens if you delete Macintosh HD?

You won’t lose your own files, or apps that you might have installed. This reinstall just copies a fresh set of your operating system files. Then, restarts, finishes the install with those downloaded files. The install process might take more than 30 minutes, but you should boot back into your hard drive, no harm done.

Can I delete disk images on Mac?

You can safely delete . dmg files. A disk image file (. dmg) is simply an easy, portable structure to transfer an app to you without falling afoul of any internet ‘oddities’ such as compression, splitting etc.

How do you restore Internet on a Mac?

  1. Shut down your Mac.
  2. Hold down Command-Option/Alt-R and press the Power button.
  3. Hold down those keys until you a spinning globe and the message “Starting Internet Recovery.
  4. The message will be replaced with a progress bar.
  5. Wait for the MacOS Utilities screen to appear.

How do I erase my hard drive fast?

Go to Settings > Update & Security > Recovery, and click Get Started under Reset this PC. You are then asked if you want to keep your files or delete everything. Select Remove Everything, click Next, then click Reset. Your PC goes through the reset process and reinstalls Windows.

Psssssst :  How to view shared location on iphone?

How do I permanently erase my hard drive?

  1. Step 1: Back up your hard-drive data.
  2. Step 2: Don’t just delete files from your computer.
  3. Step 3: Use a program to wipe your drive.
  4. Step 4: Physically wipe your hard drive.
  5. Step 5: Do a fresh installation of the operating system.

How do I wipe my hard drive physically?

How do I reset my Mac desktop to factory settings?

To reset your Mac, first restart your computer. Then press and hold Command + R until you see the Apple logo. Next, go to Disk Utility > View > View all devices, and choose the top drive. Next, click Erase, fill out the required details, and hit Erase again.

How do I delete a Mac user account?

  1. On your Mac, choose Apple menu > System Preferences, then click Users & Groups. Open Users & Groups preferences for me.
  2. Select the user or group you want to delete, then click the Remove button (looks like a minus sign) below the list of users.
  3. Do one of the following:
  4. Click Delete User.

How do I restore my IMAC to factory settings without CD?

How do I restore my 2010 iMac to factory settings?

  1. Insert the Mac OS X Install disc, then restart the computer while holding the C key.
  2. When your computer finishes starting up from the disc, choose Disk Utility from the Installer menu.
  3. Click the Erase tab.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please disable your ad blocker to be able to view the page content. For an independent site with free content, it's literally a matter of life and death to have ads. Thank you for your understanding! Thanks